ERROAR!#4

尺寸可变

单频高清有声录像(3分24秒),互动在线应用,激光刻印镜面亚克力,3D打印,生成式诗歌卷轴,算法作曲(与杰森·道尔合作)

ERROAR!#4把“食人”现象看作是文化和技术同化的隐喻,特别是在人-人工智能耦合的过程中。三个部分 – 单频录像完全由网络收集的图库视频组成。脚本基于一件关于人工智能训练错误的网络轶事,讲述DARPA(美国国防高级研究计划局)早期研究智能主体的实验。这也是第一个“虚拟食人”的案例;《过去说过的话》的卷轴是基于弥尔顿《失乐园》与一个递归神经网络合著的生成式诗歌,自动无休地写作与印刷;通过网络摄像头,联网的软件因不充分的学习和训练而只能将人脸识别为物件。“被物错误地物化”在镜面与网络摄像头之间反馈,像是自己在啃食自己,细胞自我吞噬。


人们通过构建人工神经网络来开发智慧生命的同时进一步理解了人类自身的认知形成。ERROAR!观察放大这些实验中产生的误差和噪音,以及这些技术错误如何打开了新的创造潜能,从而逆向配置我们的感知、情动(Affect)和想象力。艺术家使用不同格式的开放数据来训练盛行的机器学习算法,所生成的结果交织出了混合媒体的装置。ERROAR!强调算法系统的内部结构。这些系统动员了当代图像、声音和文本的生产,质问我们一直联体共生且相互作用的网络化的赛博格现实。

什么星云,什么双曲面的光,什么动植物群

What Nebula, What Hyperbolic Light, What Flora and Fauna

3D动画(11分钟)为18台佳士得数码微显示屏配置

图4 展览现场:Ellephant画廊,蒙特利尔,加拿大,2019。 从日落到日出,可见于夏洛特街窗口。这个项目在魁北克省和安大略省政府的支持下与EdVideo合作呈献。

《什么星云,什么双曲面的光,什么动植物群》在技术加速和城市扩张的背景下思辨“栖息地”的概念。以“花园”为隐喻,重新想象一个人类、自然和人造材料共存的理想栖息地。它将互动诗歌、想象中的生物体与重新利用的过时技术和电子垃圾结合在一起。WNWHLWFF关于如何自处居住在这样一个加速的未来景观中,现有的强加的节奏被弯曲以获得暂停或反思。

呼吸分形


起初,Chik White(新斯科舍省农村的达西·斯派德尔)与叶轩(多伦多)的音乐是截然不同的。斯派德尔用口弦世界上最古老的乐器之一即兴创作,发表了一系列令人振奋和新鲜的作品,包括最近在Notice上发表的两盘磁带。叶轩将录像和听觉表演、体感学、计算机编程、原声乐器、人声、田野录音与陌生的频率进行了密集、迷人、激进的前沿合成。斯派德尔与海洋有着深刻而强烈的关系;海洋的许多伪装和特征为他个人独特的作品提供了催化剂,这些作品致力于他所居住的海洋环境与自然现象。两位艺术家不仅参考了门外汉的民俗传统,还参考了各种深奥的流派,包括前卫派、噪音、田野录音和声音拼贴。

这张私密的专辑揭示了他们在音乐创作上的强烈互动,从专辑曲目所呈现的物理感与可触感中可见一斑。两人都致力于原始声音的生成,同时将语言还原成其最物理的部分,仿佛在戏剧化地表现“人类表达”的挣扎。他们沿着非常短小且精准的距离探索乐器和人声。有时,他们会延展好奇心至空间与物件。几乎像在叙事,“人声”经常出现,但却永远无法理解。两位艺术家在肢体表演的边界突破在这次合作中找到了一条新的路线。


不安之室

XY: 人声,多伦多,安大略,2017

饱食

CW: 口弦、人声, Chezzetcook 新斯科舍, 2018

恍若鸣钟

XY: 人声、打击乐,长岛,纽约, 2016

不醒长眠

XY: 人声, CW: 口弦, 多伦多,安大略 / Chezzetcook 新斯科舍, 2017

归巢曲

CW: 口弦、人声, Chezzetcook 新斯科舍, 2018

呼吸分形的复调 no.2

XY: 人声, CW: 口弦, 多伦多,安大略 / Chezzetcook 新斯科舍, 2017

呼吸分形的复调 no.1

XY: 人声, CW: 口弦, 多伦多,安大略 / Chezzetcook 新斯科舍, 2017

蹒跚

CW: 口弦, Chezzetcook 新斯科舍, 2017

上升,上升

XY: 田野录音, 各处, 2017

杂食机器

XY: 田野录音, CW: 人声, 多伦多,安大略 / Chezzetcook 新斯科舍, 2017

仙鹤

XY: 田野录音, 各处, 2016

录音:叶轩,达西·斯派德尔
混音:Kyle McDonald
录像 & 封面艺术来源:叶轩
封面排版:E. Lindorff-Ellery
凸版印刷:Small Fires Press, 新奥尔良
卡带复制:Cryptic Carousel

不是风,不是扇

不是风,不是扇 1.0 2018

风扇、麦克风、电

Emergents系列现场,多伦多创意音乐中心,2018。图源1&3:克莱尔·哈维。图源2:克里斯蒂安·傅里叶

不是风,不是扇 2.0 2019

ZMY031 分辑磁带

是谁的风
未曾流动一只风扇
不是声音
所有冰川融化
不是运动
远处
疑惑的波浪
唯一的其他声音
是休止
和苏醒的鸟群
频谱
是絮状的频谱
重复的退潮
姐妹 积雪
鼓片 弹弓
振响的物质
不计其数
你 和我
和他们的云
网络
和网络
和网络们
低音在膨胀
风在呼吸
不是扇
未成形 深刻的
不是风

2018

鳍 / 终

Fin

2018

尺寸可变

互动网页装置

固定链接:https://app.pureapparat.us/fin/

该作品由《诱饵》密抄项目于2018年委任创作。

2017 – 2018

尺寸可变

实时图像数据投影,15片激光刻印镜面,镜面薄膜,金属结构

《鳍 / 终》邀请扫描的目光和分散的注意力,在G=A=R=D=E=N充满生命和故事的图片海洋中进行一次盛大的巡游。在这里,一个完整的文字-视觉档案也是一个理想的存在,构成了一个过于简单的世界的模拟,这个文字-视觉环境养育了我们,同时我们也在其中互动。标题Fin指的是装置的形状,它看起来像水生地球人身上常见的扁平的附属物,用来在水中航行。而Fin,在法语中也意味着电影或叙事的结束,Fin穿过像素波,从一个城市景观(商业标志)到另一个由存量摄影档案网络化构建的城市景观,部署了对理想栖息地或我们称之为“家”的最终场所的愿景和希望。

在此之间 () 我们振荡

IN BETWEEN () WE OSCILLATE

时长尺寸可变

2018,程序

固定链接: https://app.pureapparat.us/INBETWEEN()WEOSCILLATE/

IN BETWEEN () WE OSCILLATE

展览现场,柔软的折射,多伦多,加拿大,2018。图源:波利娜·泰夫。

《在此之间 () 我们振荡》以声波频谱的形式将数对英语反义词动画化。这些单词来源于ESL教科书中的反义词数据库。所有反义词被可视化为一张频谱图,再将其翻译为可听的频率。随文字在屏幕上滚动,背景声音回放。《在此之间 () 我们振荡》将语言视为材料,将互联网视为基础设施,在这样的场域中雕刻一盏无法在物理领域实现、永远在移动的霓虹灯。这个令人不安的声明从字面上表达了我们这个时代的不稳定性 — 我们存在于分叉、困境和二元对立之中。它同时呼应了当前的全球社会政治环境,其中数字和非人类的扩散,以及散居和移民,都指向一个不断变化的振荡的现实和主体性。

字字赛博格

字字赛博格 V1.3 2018

时长尺寸可变

互动程序,虚拟现实,光雕投影,生成式音乐

展览现场:数字艺术家驻留,InterAccess电子媒体艺术中心,2018。图源1 – 6:梅根·麦克劳林

字字赛博格 V1.2 2017 – 2018

尺寸可变

推特机器人@qletrcyborg,树莓派,热敏打印机组件,麦克风架,激光刻印镜面亚克力

字字赛博格 V1.1 2017

尺寸可变

互动程序,键盘,扩音器

图12 展览现场:边界共振,歌德学院,北京,中国 2018。图源:张文心

诸如此类

Et Cetera
Et Cetera
Et Cetera
Et Cetera
Et Cetera

展览现场:个展,三一广场媒体艺术中心,多伦多,加拿大,2018

I forget,etc.(after X. Y.) by Fan Wu 2018

黑金双色孔版印刷风琴折,限量200版

读者指南 2018

尺寸可变

金属结构,镜面薄膜,菲林微喷,算法作曲 (2分钟),动画投影

《诸如此类》由五件作品交织为一体。这五件作品从本质上是作为数字诗歌的五篇著作 — 一种由数字媒体和技术促成的诗歌实践,通过字母、视觉、数据等的语义影响来扩展美学的可能性。《诸如此类》交错多媒介的意义制造,以实时数据馈送、动画字母形态、表演性指令和感官合成为材料(再)生产装置。探索了各种各样人机耦合的场景,从而导致了多重的不可辨认(不可读)性,《诸如此类》放大了根系网络中信息溢出的噪音,这些网络在很大程度上超出了我们的意识理解范围。在B面,《诸如此类》也关于“字母书写机器”、艺术家作为作者且作为人机半人马,以及主体网络化的写作。

XVK

XVK 2017

XVK.SPACE ⤻

成立于2017年,XVK是一个由叶轩、维罗妮克·砂取,萨拉·马斯顿三人组成的“亚洲流行女子艺术家偶像团体”。基于行为表演融合图像和装置,挪用“亚洲流行女子偶像团体”的套路来解构“亚洲女孩偶像”的刻板叙事和神话,并批判偶像产业中对女性的资本主义剥削和恋物癖,反思晚期资本主义语境下的身份操演。XVK以流行歌手的身份,引入了以东亚为中心的明星和偶像文化中经常被忽视的脆弱、愤怒、反抗、幽默、无聊和焦虑。XVK在当下社会政治环境中,围绕着虚假信息的流通,寻找另一种历史 — 暗示一种超越传统“白立方”语境的行动主义的实践。摒弃了以声音为核心的流行音乐机器,XVK推出了两首没有音乐的单曲与音乐录影带。作品包括:音乐录影带,真人秀,女团周边产品如数字表情包,时装首饰,签名海报,区块链XVKCoin等。

G=A=R=D=E=N

G=A=R=D=E=N

时长尺寸可变

2017,程序

固定链接: https://app.pureapparat.us/g-a-r-d-e-n/

g a r d e n 花园的一个翻面,是d a n g e r 危险 相关作品: 遥感过敏症, 鳍/终

ERROAR!#4

dimension variable

single-channel HD video(3’25”, sound), interactive web-based application, laser-engraved mirror, 3D prints, generative poetry on paper scroll, algorithmic composition (in collaboration with Jason Doell)

ERROAR!#4 contemplates on the phenomenon of “cannibalism” as a metaphor for cultural and technological assimilation, especially in the process of human-artificial-intelligence coupling. Entirely composed of stock videos, the single-channel video essay is derived from an online anecdote about the first case of “virtual cannibalism” conducted by AI agents during DARPA’s early experiments. The piece of generative poetry titled “Past Said Lore” on the paper scroll is co-authored with a recurrent neural network to write in the style of John Milton’s Paradise Lost. Through a webcam and a mirror, the networked software “misrecognizes” human faces as “objects”, due to incorrect and incomplete training and learning. Being objectified by an object in error creates an infinite feedback loop between the mirror and the camera, performing a metaphorical autophagy, just like the closed loop of human skeleton eating tailbone.


The Erroar! Series speaks to the errant and noise that emerge from experiments of intelligence agents for understanding human’s cognitive functions through artificial neural networks, and how these technological errors open up new creative potentials that in return reconfigure our perceptions, affect and imaginations. Most visual-textual-sonic materials involved are generated from the process in which artist use open data in various formats to train prevalent machine learning algorithms.

What Nebula, What Hyperbolic Light, What Flora and Fauna

What Nebula, What Hyperbolic Light, What Flora and Fauna

CG animation (11mins) configured for 18 Christie Digital Microtiles.

Fig.4 installation view at Ellephant, Montreal, Canada, 2019. Video visible from sundown to sunrise in the Charlotte Street window. This project is a co-production with EdVideo realized thanks to the financial support of the Government of Quebec and Ontario.

preview link

What Nebula, What Hyperbolic Light, What Flora and Fauna speculates on the idea of “habitat” in the context of technological acceleration and urban sprawl. It uses “garden” as a metaphor for re-imagining an ideal habitat where human, natural and man-made materials coexist. It incorporates interactive poetry, imagined organisms, with repurposed obsolete technology and e-waste. WNWHLWFF is about dwelling in such an accelerated future of landscapes, where the imposed rhythms of existing are bent for a pause or a reflection.

Breath Fractals


Initially, the music of Chik White (Darcy Spidle of rural Nova Scotia) and Xuan Ye (Toronto) are drastically different. Spidle improvises using the jaw harp, one of the world’s most ancient instruments, on a series of stimulating and freshly invigorating releases, including two recent tapes on Notice. Xuan Ye has developed a dense, fascinating, radically cutting edge synthesis of video and aural performance, somatics, and computer programming, engaging acoustic instruments, voice, field recordings, and strangled frequencies. Spidle has a deep and intense relationship with the ocean; its many guises and characteristics have provided a catalyst for a personal and unique body of work, one that is devoted to his oceanic surroundings and the natural phenomena inherent to its existence. Both artists reference not only outsider folk traditions, but also esoteric strains of the avant-garde, noise, field recordings, and sound collage.

This intimate release reveals their strong musical interplay, evident in the physicality and palpability of the tracks presented. Both are dedicated to the generation of raw sound, while reducing language into its constituent physical parts, as if dramatizing the struggle of human expression. They explore instrument and voice along what feels like very short and concise distances. At times, they branch out into explorations of spaces and objects that feel curious and almost narrative, with the “voice” often present but never remotely understandable. Both artists’ boundary-pushing of physical performance finds a new route in this collaboration.


precariousium

XY: voice, Toronto ON, 2017

satiate

CW: jaw harp and voice, Chezzetcook NS, 2018

as if by a bell

XY: voice and percussion, Long Island NY, 2016

long may I sleep

XY: voice, CW: jarp harp, Toronto ON / Chezzetcook NS, 2017

homing hymn

CW: jaw harp and voice, Cheezetcook NS, 2018

polyphony of breath fractals no.2

XY: voice, CW: jaw harp, Toronto ON / Chezzetcook NS, 2017

polyphony of breath fractals no.1

XY: voice, CW: jaw harp, Toronto ON / Chezzetcook NS, 2017

wodd

CW: jaw harp, Chezzetcook NS, 2017

escalate, escalate

XY: field recordings, various, 2017

omnivore machine

XY: field recording, CW: vocal noise, Toronto ON / Chezzetcook NS, 2017

crane

XY: field recordings, various, 2016

Recorded by Xuan Ye and Darcy Spidle
Mastered by Kyle McDonald
Videos & Source artwork by Xuan Ye
Layout by E. Lindorff-Ellery
Letterpress printed by Small Fires Press, New Orleans
Duplicated by Cryptic Carousel

feng shan

feng shan 1.0 2018

For Fans, Microphones, Electronics

Live at Emergents Series (curated by Sara Constant), Music Gallery, 2018. Fig. 1 & 3 Photo by Claire Harvie. Fig. 2 Photo by Kristian Fourier

feng shan 2.0 2019

ZMY031 split tape

Whose wind is that?
Never flow a fan.
It’s not the sound,
All glaciers melt
not the move.
of distant,
confused waves.
The only other sound
Is the break
And birds awake.
The spectrum is
a flocculent spectrum.
Recurring ebbs.
Sister. Snows.
Snare. Sling.
Plethora of
Vibrant matters.
You, and me,
and their clouds
Network,
And network,
And networks.
Low voices expand.
The wind is breathing,
Not the fan.
Unformed and deep,
It’s not the wind.

2018

Fin

Fin

fin 2018

dimension variable

interactive web installation

Permalink: https://app.pureapparat.us/fin/

commissioned by Bcc:, Decoy Magazine in 2018

fin 2017 – 2018

dimension variable

real-time image data feed projection, 15 laser-engraved mirrors, mirror film, metal structures

Fin invites scanning eyes and scattered attentions for a grand cruise in the G=A=R=D=E=N teeming with life and stories depicted in the ocean of stock images, where a total textual-visual archive that is also an ideal existence constitutes a simulacrum of the over-simplified world, the textual-visual environment that feeds us and that at the same time we interoperate within. The title Fin refers to the shape of the installation which looks like the flattened appendage commonly seen on aquatic earthlings used to navigate in the water. And in Fin, which also means the end of film or narrative in French, the Fin cuts through the pixel waves from one urban landscape (commercial signages) to another that is constructed by a networked archive of stock photography, deploying vision and hope for the ideal habitat or the end place we call “home”.

IN BETWEEN () WE OSCILLATE

IN BETWEEN () WE OSCILLATE

duration & dimension variable

2018,app

Permalink: https://app.pureapparat.us/INBETWEEN()WEOSCILLATE/

IN BETWEEN () WE OSCILLATE

installation view, Soft Refractions, Toronto, Canada 2018. Photo by Polina Teif.

IN BETWEEN () WE OSCILLATE animates pairs of English antonyms as data in the form of a sound wave spectrum. The words are from an antonym database found in an ESL textbook. As the words scroll across the screen, a soundtrack is played back that translates the visualization of all antonym pairs as one spectrogram into audible frequencies. Considering language as materials, and the web as infrastructure and site, IN BETWEEN () WE OSCILLATE sculpts a neon light that is always on the move, and impossible to materialize in the physical realm. The disquieting statement literally conveys the precarity of our time — we exist within the bifurcations, dilemmas, and dichotomies. It echoes the current global socio-political environment, where the proliferation of the digital and non-human, as well as diasporization and migration, point to a reality and subjectivity that are in a constant flux of oscillation.

EveryLetterCyborg

EveryLetterCyborg V1.3 2018

duration & dimension variable

interactive web installation, webVR, projection mapping, generative music

installation views, ​digital artist in residency, InterAccess, 2018. Fig. 1 – 6 Photo by Megan Maclaurin

EveryLetterCyborg V1.2 2017 – 2018

dimension variable

twitterbot @qletrcyborg, raspberry pi, thermal printer module, microphone stand, laser-engraved mirror

EveryLetterCyborg V1.1 2016 – 2017

dimension variable

interactive web installation, tablet, keyboard, speakers

Fig. 12 installation view, Border Resonance, Goethe Institut, Beijing, China 2018. Photo by Wenxin Zhang

Et Cetera

Et Cetera
Et Cetera
Et Cetera
Et Cetera
Et Cetera

installation views, solo exhibition, Trinity Square Video, Toronto, Canada, 2018

I forget,etc.(after X. Y.) by Fan Wu 2018

black & metalic gold dual-tone risograph accordion fold, limited edition of 200

Reader’s Guide 2018

dimension variable

metal sculpture, mirror film, giclée print on film, algorithmic composition (2′), animation projection

“… I forget that if what you see is where you go, then all seeing is a censored prophet that fails (because of neurosis or paralysis) to act in accordance with its own oracles.

I forget the efficient linearity of human reading (frustrating; rusty with the will to make sense) and learn the stochastic programmability of the machine (nested recursions: birds in cyborg-synaptic teleport.) I become not apart from the humus of inhuman refuse, the floppy callousness of computer script.

I forget how to chart a course between the gravity of identity (flesh, father, hearth) and the anonymity of the digital.

I forget, rote fig, frig toe. I forget — ego rift — grief to forge it. Heal us, eros of foe grit. O He Fears Soul: I forget sentimentality and open-hearted relatability to forge a new, colder, but no less tender form of subjectivity.

I forget whether Zhuangzi thought voice was the dream of water or water the dream of voice. I barely remember vaporwave — soft subliminality that brought back visions of Sonic the Hedgehog — and the hard limits of nostalgia. I fully remember Freud’s primordial oceanic feeling of being one with the universe; but to feel it here, in the 21st century, means to feel it homelessly: even total unity cannot undo my nomad code.

I forget language like it was the lie of noise…”

— Fan Wu  “I Forget, etc. (after X.Y.)”

Et Cetera is woven together with five works that are essentially five bodies of writings as digital poetry — a poetic practice that is made possible by digital media and technology in which aesthetic possibilities are extended through the semantic impact of alphabets, visuals, data, etc. Interlaced by multimedial meaning-making, Et Cetera re(produces) installations that are engineered with utilizing real-time data feeds, animated letterforms, performative instructions and sensory synthesis.

Exploring different scenarios of human-machine coupling that consequently lead to multifarious illegibility, Et Cetera amplifies the noise of information overflow in the concurrent mediascape with its rhizomatic networks that are largely beyond our conscious apprehension. On the B-side, Et Cetera is also involved with writing about the alphabetic writing apparatus, the role of artist as author as human-machine-centaur and the networked subjectivity.

Related writing: Et Cetera by Xuan Ye

XVK

XVK 2017

XVK.SPACE ⤻

XVK, aka @XVK_XVK is an asian-girl-band-artist-collective of members Xuan Ye, Véronique Sunatori and Sara Kay Maston. The collective’s body of work combines images, video, performance, and sculptural objects. XVK employs the “Asian-pop-girl-band” trope to deconstruct narratives and myths of “Asian girl” stereotypes, and to critique the capitalist exploitation and fetishism of females in idol industry. Appropriating the persona of the pop star, XVK introduces vulnerability, anger, defiance, humor, boredom, and anxiety that are often neglected in celebrity and idol culture centered around East Asia. In the wake of the concurrent socio-political environment, and around the circulation of disinformation, XVK searches for an alternative history suggesting a praxis of activism that functions beyond the conventional white box context. Eliminating sound as the core of the pop music machine, XVK has released two singles which are performed as silent music videos.

G=A=R=D=E=N

G=A=R=D=E=N

duration & dimension variable

2017,app

Permalink: https://app.pureapparat.us/g-a-r-d-e-n/

d a n g e r is one of the flip sides of g a r d e n

Related work: Telematic Allergies, Fin